Skip to main content

About UEW

The University of Education, Winneba (UEW) was established in September 1992 as a University College under PNDC Law 322. On 14th May 2004, the University of Education Act, (2004) Act 672 was enacted to upgrade the status of the University College of Education of Winneba to the status of a full University.

The University College of Education of Winneba brought together seven diploma awarding colleges located in different towns under one umbrella institution. These Colleges were the Advanced Teacher Training College, the Specialist Training College, and the National

Academy of Music, all at Winneba; the School of Ghana Languages, Ajumako; the College of Special Education, Akwapim- Mampong; the Advanced Technical Training College, Kumasi; and the St. Andrews Agricultural Training College, Asante-Mampong.

By enactment of the Akenten Appiah-Menka University of Skills Training and Entrepreneurial Development Act (2020) Act 1026, the Kumasi and Asante-Mampong Campuses have ceased to be satelitte campuses of UEW.

Aims of the University

  1. To provide higher education and foster a systematic advancement of the science and the art of teacher education:
  2.  To train tutors for the colleges of education and other tertiary institutions:
  3. To provide teachers with professional competence for teaching in pre-tertiary institutions such as preschool, basic, senior secondary school and nonformal education institutions: and
  4. To foster links between the schools and the community in order to ensure the holistic training of teachers.

© 2019 University of Education, Winneba